In the News

Anne-Marie Slaughter and Stephen Macedo join the LAPA Executive Committee

LAPA welcomes Anne-Marie Slaughter, Bert G. Kerstetter '66 University Professor of Politics and International Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School, and  Stephen J. Macedo, Laurance S. Rockefeller Professor of Politics and the University Center for Human Values, as new members of its nine-member Executive Committee. 

Both have been active in developing LAPA's mission and guiding its expansion at Princeton. Professor Slaughter was Dean of the Woodrow Wilson School during LAPA's formative years, while Professor Macedo was the first LAPA Director.  Professor Macedo went on to become the Director of the University Center for Human Values, a position he held until 2010.  Dean Slaughter and UCHV Director Macedo were instrumental in creating LAPA's current governance model, in which Executive Committee members are drawn from each of LAPA's three principal funders:  The Woodrow Wilson School, the University Center for Human Values, and the University.  They also served as ex officio members of the Executive Committee.  

Having recently returned from their respective leaves, they have agreed to become full Executive Committee members replacing John Darley, Dorman T. Warren Professor of Psychology, and Professor of Psychology and Public Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School, and Kwame Anthony Appiah, Laurance S. Rockefeller University Professor of Philosophy and the University Center for Human Values, who have elected to step down after serving in this leadership role for several years.  For more on the members of the Executive Committee, see