Lunch with Walter Murphy and Sandy Levinson

Fri, 05/01/2009
by invitation only
Event Category: 
Special Event
Graduate Students

The Program in Law and Public Affairs invites MPP/MPA, Woodrow Wilson graduate students, and LAPA Fellows to a special lunch with Sanford Levinson and Walter Murphy. This event is by invitation only, if interested please e-mail

Sanford Levinson, who will deliver this year's Walter F. Murphy Lecture in American Constitutionalism, holds the W. St. John Garwood and W. St. John Garwood, Jr. Centennial Chair in Law at the University of Texas Law School, and joined the faculty there in 1980. Previously a member of the Department of Politics at Princeton University, he is also a Professor in the Department of Government at the University of Texas. The author of more than 250 articles and book reviews in professional and popular journals, Levinson has also written four books: Constitutional Faith (1988, winner of the Scribes Award); Written in Stone: Public Monuments in Changing Societies (1998); Wrestling With Diversity (2003); and, most recently, Our Undemocratic Constitution: Where the Constitution Goes Wrong (and How We the People Can Correct It)(2006). His edited or co-edited books include a leading constitutional law casebook, Processes of Constitutional Decisionmaking (5th ed. 2006, with Paul Brest, Jack Balkin, Akhil Amar, and Reva Siegel); Reading Law and Literature: A Hermeneutic Reader (1988, with Steven Mallioux); Responding to Imperfection: The Theory and Practice of Constitutional Amendment (1995); Constitutional Stupidities, Constitutional Tragedies (1998, with William Eskridge); Legal Canons (2000, with Jack Balkin); The Louisiana Purchase and American Expansion (2005, with Batholomew Sparrow); and Torture: A Collection (2004, revised paperback edition, 2006), which includes reflections on the morality, law, and politics of torture from a variety of disciplinary perspectives. He has taught a course on "Torture, Law, and Lawyers" at the Harvard Law School. He is also a regular participant on the popular blog, Balkinization. Levinson is a member of the American Law Institute, and was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2001. He earned his J.D. from Stanford Law School and Ph.D. from Harvard University. 

Walter F. Murphy, McCormick Professor of Jurisprudence Emeritus at Princeton University, is among the most distinguished constitutional scholars of the 20th century. A decade after joining the Princeton faculty, he was named the McCormick Professor of Jurisprudence, succeeding Woodrow Wilson, Edward S. Corwin and Alpheus T. Mason in one of the nation's most prestigious endowed chairs. He is the recipient of numerous honors, including the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Political Science Association, Law and Courts Section, and the Chicago Foundation for Literature Award in 1980 for his novel, The Vicar of Christ. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a senior fellow of the Italian Academy for Advanced Study in America. He is the author of Constitutional Democracy:  Creating and Maintaining a Just Political Order, Wiretapping on Trial, Elements of Judicial Strategy, and Congress and the Court, as well as works of fiction exploring important political and religious themes, including Upon This Rock: The Life of St. Peter and The Roman Enigma. He earned a Purple Heart, Distinguished Service Cross, three Battle Stars, and a Presidential Unit Citation for his service in the U.S. Marine Corps during the Korean War. Professor Murphy earned a Ph.D. from the University of Chicago.